Skip to main navigation.

Editorial: February 2018

​NDAREC honors outstanding people


Josh Kramer, NDAREC executive vice president and general manager
Josh Kramer


We opened our year with the 75th anniversary annual meeting of the North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives (NDAREC), held last month in Bismarck. It was an informative, inspiring gathering, as our NDAREC family considered our challenges of today, and tomorrow.

I was proud to be able to represent NDAREC in the association’s presentation of awards to some outstanding individuals serving the electric cooperative family. Our cooperatives thrive because there are people among us who go above and beyond in bringing their talents and passion to the betterment of our communities, cooperatives and members. This year’s NDAREC annual meeting award winners include:

HELPING HAND AWARD – presented to United States Sen. Heidi Heitkamp. As a U.S. Senator – the culmination of a long career in public service – Heitkamp has advocated for smart, strategic use of North Dakota’s abundant natural resources to contribute to economic growth and a better quality of life. Heitkamp joins a distinguished list of public servants who have received our Helping Hand Award; recent recipients include: U.S. Sen. John Hoeven, Rural Utilities/Rural Development Administrator Jasper Schneider; and Public Service Commissioner Brian Kalk.

COOPERATIVE LEADERSHIP AWARD – presented to Terryl Jacobs, Regent, for outstanding service as a member and officer for co-op boards. Jacobs was a member and officer of the Slope Electric Cooperative board of directors, helped form the Innovative Energy Alliance, and served in leadership capacities with the Rural Development Finance Corporation and the Cooperative Finance Corporation.

COOPERATIVE COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD – This year, two Cooperative Community Service Awards were presented: one to Marty Tetrault, lineman for Cavalier Rural Electric Cooperative, Langdon. Tetrault is a Langdon city commissioner, a leader for the local volunteer fire department, and organizer of youth football and baseball programs.  The other award went to Cindy Shattuck, credit manager for Verendrye Electric Cooperative, Velva. Shattuck  served as Velva mayor, during a period of significant water, streets and housing improvements. Shattuck served also on the Velva Chamber of Commerce, and Medical Center, and continues her local service.

COOPERATIVE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT AWARD – presented to Northern Plains Electric Cooperative, Cando/Carrington, for provision of economic development resources spurring growth of jobs, businesses and essential services.

NORTH DAKOTA LIVING LOCAL PAGES AWARD – honoring a cooperative and editor for outstanding achievement in the quality of local cooperative pages appearing monthly in the center of North Dakota Living magazine. This year’s North Dakota Living Local Pages Award was presented to North Central Electric Cooperative, Bottineau, and their editor, Pete Erickson

Josh Kramer, editor-in-chief of North Dakota Living, is executive vice president and general manager of the North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives, Mandan. Comments can be mailed to Josh Kramer, NDAREC, P.O. Box 727, Mandan, ND 58554-0727 or by email